glass half full

The other day I was listening to a podcast interview featuring the Jolly Lama – Lama Surya Das.

The question “Is your glass half full or half empty” was brought up. And he replied that that you can look at the glass as 3/4 full instead of 1/2 half empty.

Yes, that doesn’t make mathematical sense.

But what I felt he was trying to convey was that, you can’t change the problem but you can choose how you react, how you perceive the problem.

It got me thinking that maybe he is right.

Our perceptions in a way skew our reality. More often than not, I personally perceive my problems to be bigger than they really are. Perhaps reality itself is.. not as real as it seem, but fluid and subject to change. Maybe it is a “construct”, a amalgamate of people’s perceptions.

Perhaps what is more important is how you experience the world, rather than what the world really is.

I don’t really know what’s the point of my post, but this was just something that was rattling in my head today.

404261_10150501164111297_521507870_n
Lumpini Park – Bangkok 2012

2 thoughts on “glass half full

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.